Home » Eggs » Sometimes you need to break a few eggs

Sometimes you need to break a few eggs

I never had any idea how many eggs I actually consumed back when I lived in the states. Eggs apparently are in EVERYTHING. They are in pasta, they are in sauces, they are breads, I could go on and on but just assume if you like it, it probably has eggs in it. When I lived in the US I bought my eggs by the half dozen, I tried to make sure I always had some on hand but they certainly weren’t something I used every day. Now here, in Nicaragua, I go through 30 eggs a week generally. And I only feed two people. I just go back from a month in the states last Monday and that number seemed absolutely ridiculous to me when I got back (I’m sure it does to you as well.) So when I went to the store Tuesday I bought a dozen. By Thursday morning I was out of eggs again. So, Trevor took the moto up to the corner to buy eggs to get told there would be no eggs until Monday. Anyway, this afternoon Trevor when out to give our friend a lift down the road and I asked him to see if he could find us some eggs.

Apparently transporting eggs 5 KM on a motorcycle is not as safe as from the corner. When he returned with the flat of eggs, a half dozen of them were broken. What do you do with half a dozen eggs in the middle of the afternoon? Omelets immediately came to my mind, but Trevor suggested mayonnaise. I’ve been talking about trying out mayonnaise from scratch but hadn’t gotten the nerve yet. I set two of the six eggs aside and whipped up a quick omelet for us and started looking into homemade mayonnaise recipes. I realized I didn’t have lemon juice, which most recipes require and started looking to see if it could be done without it. I struck up a post on PinchMySalt.com on just that subject. So I pulled out the whisk and got to work. Some significant amount of whisking time later I do in fact have homemade mayonnaise. Now I just need to figure out what to do with it. I’m thinking potato salad but I’ll keep you posted.

Mayonnaise

Mayonnaise 

1 egg yolk

1/4 tsp Dijon mustard

salt

1/4 tsp vinegar

3/4 c. oil

The recipe I found called for lemon juice which I didn’t have – in season I can get limes but it’s not the season now. I used plain white vinegar because that’s all I had here and a seedy Dijon mustard. You can see the mustard seeds but I don’t mind. I think it will enhance the flavor in the end. I followed the advice to drip the first 1/4 cup of oil on 1/4 tsp at a time while whisking. Then drizzled the remaining 1/2 cup to the mixture. I had difficulty whisking while streaming the oil but found I could tell when the mixture was getting too oily. I would simply whisk to the oiliness went a way and continue adding oil. Probably not perfect but it certainly worked for what I had.

Leave a Reply

